MONO MONDAY - TRADITION

Tradition - a belief or behaviour passed down with symbolic meaning or special significance with origins in the past.

Since we were first married many years ago, it has been a tradition in our family that when you have a birthday, the cards stay up for at least a month.  I personally feel if someone has been kind enough to buy and send you a card then it seems rude to put it in the bin the day after the birthday - cards need to be enjoyed and savoured!

Of course I have the added complication of having a birthday the day after Christmas Day so it's always a dilemma as to where my cards will go - as there is the Nativity and all the other decorations around, as well as all the Christmas cards we receive.

In 2015 it was a special birthday for me and so I had lots of cards but when it was time to take down the Christmas cards and decorations, I decided that my cards would stay up where I could look at them and still enjoy them.  There is another bonus, of course - if they're still up, it means I don't have to dust, not that I dust very much on top of this particular bookcase  - but actually, I do have a dust allergy so disturbing it only makes me sneeze more! Well that's my story and I'm sticking to it! 

I am very pleased though, that my cards are all wonderful colours, but obviously for Mono Monday, you can't appreciate that.

Family traditions counter 
     alienation and confusion. 
They help us define who we are; 
     they provide something steady, 
          reliable and safe 
               in a confusing world.
Susan Lieberman

Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday about my little robin - perhaps I should have made the robin my main blip but I wanted to be part of the Derelict Sunday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.