Three Birds

Today I was lucky enough to capture two birds that I have not seen before.

During lunch today I went out to my favorite park ~ Lone Lane Park. While eating my lunch I spotted the Bluejay directly above me. As I prayed that he won't poop on me, I got a few shots of him. Not usually the side of a Bluejay that is seen or photographed!! After a while I then spotted a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker, which is in the upper left photo. This is first time I had ever seen one of these in person ~ very exciting!! He was flying from tree to tree and was not very close to where I was sitting, so I waited (in vain) for him to get closer. In fact, I waited so long that I was late getting back to work! Oh, well!

The small photo in the lower left is of a Northern Bobwhite that R spotted in our front yard. We had no idea what it was as we have never seen one in our area before, let alone in our yard!! I thought at first that it was a quail, but when I looked it up in our bird book we realized that it is a Northern Bobwhite. After feeding in our yard for several minutes it wandered over to our neighbors yard. We haven't seen it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.