Duplicate Bridge

I had a very complex day today. It was my birthday for starters. 73. Not one of the big multiples. But getting up there.

Second I made a tough decision to cancel Arvin and my trip to France in March. His recent problems with balance and his big fall a few weeks ago made me realize that the balance had tipped away from relaxed safety to concern for Arvin's safety and for staying in my comfort zone. The sooner I called the better, so I cancelled this morning.

Then I brought Helena home and headed off to duplicate bridge by myself. Steve is out of town. I picked this photo to show those who don't know the game how it works. You deal hands and put them into boards as shown here. At this point we had finished playing and were setting up for next month. When you play you keep your cards in front of you and put the hands back in the board. Everybody plays the same board. You get points depending how well you do compared to the other players. It is a game of skill.

Nora and Dave took me out to dinner at a lovely restaurant in Mt Vernon for my birthday. I had braised lamb shank and it was wonderful.

On the way home I get stuck in accident traffic. I was really tired by the time I got home. Helena and Arvin had had a great day going out to the movies. Now it is late and I am ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.