foxfollower

By foxfollower

The Roundhouse, Derby

On my way through Derby station, I stopped to take a closer look at this building. The Roundhouse at Derby is the world's first and oldest surviving railway roundhouse - a building used for servicing locomotives, incorporating a central turntable - and it's a Grade II listed building. It was originally developed in 1839 by four rival rail companies, including North Midland Railway (NMR) for whom George Stephenson and his son Robert were engineers.
It's now part of Derby College, so I wasn't able to have a look inside (although they do tours on some days). But it was well worth a view and a blip from the outside, especially given my interest from Dad's years spent working for British Rail in Derby. Bring back a national rail network, I say!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.