stujphoto

By stujphoto

On a dreich day......

The scots have a word for today's weather - 'dreich' - which when you say it conjures the real atmosphere of a grey and wet, miserable day. Thanks heavens for higher ISOs as without them it might have been a blipless day. I have always tended to go for the lowest ISO on the grounds that it will give me the best quality picture. However, using DxO software to counteract the noise I find I can happily shoot at 800 to 1600 without any loss of quality. It takes a while to remove the noise, about 2-3 minutes if you are transferring from Lightroom, but as it is said to sample a thousand pixels around each pixel for its algorithm it is well worth there wait.

I liked the inverted hooked neck reflections of these swans and managed to get only one shot in which they were all facing the same way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.