Logging my PhD

By maggie_imagine

School girls strike action 1976

40 years ago this week. Spurred on by the 1975 sex discrimination Act, girls at Denny High School  began striking in protest at not being allowed to wear trousers to school.
A few years ago during my MRes, I contacted some of these girls, now ladies, and asked them to write to me with their memories of this time. From these hand written notes, I created a small booklet, and then folded the notes into a parcel and tied it with ribbons...
I was one of the 'strikers', locked in the toilets with my friend, and other much older girls.... More than a little scared, but buzzing with the excitement of 'breaking the rules'....Have I changed?...only a little ;)
40 years later, women continue to stand and march together in a sense of collective and mutual action that feel good, and in the hope of making positive change to their communities and to the lives of others.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.