Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Black on Black

Mono Monday, and the theme is tradition. Plus I'm trying to photograph black on black for my A Year With My Camera challenge for this week. 

This vase was made by my Uncle's mother in law, who comes from a long line of artists. It was passed to me after she died; it is reminiscent of conversations we had, as I'd always admired oversized pottery as sparse decoration in a house - but never imagined ever being able to afford any. 

This represents the tradition of things passed down, passed on. Traditions are made by people, by a symbol of kindness or love, that touches a heart so that it is repeated. Each item passed on should be cherished, and, with consideration as to why it was passed to you. I consider it my duty to have the same diligence to consider who should receive this once I am gone - not necessarily a direct relative, but to someone who has touched my heart and who would truly cherish it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.