The Genealogist

Today was last class on my "trace your family history" course so I had to capture the lovely Naomi our teacher. It has been more interesting and useful that I had expected taking me on a social history tour of the last 200 years -  changing occupations, electoral reform and old maps .  My father gave me, in 2004, his family tree as far as he knew it back to his grandfather; my great grandfather who died when I was 18. Dad died in 2013 and now in 2015/16.  I have taken the tree back another 100 years and filled in the names.  You can imagine my surprise when I obtained a copy of my great grandfather's birth certificate to find no father listed. With the help of the Dorset Family History Society I have tracked down his mother and  2 more generations but of course no father.  Sorry Dad that I did not get round to this before you died.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.