Things are looking up

The Lion on Westminster bridge is not carved stone but is made from Coade Stone, an artificial stone popular during the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries.  This lion was made at Mrs Eleanor Coade's factory in Lambeth and was originally painted red and crowned the parapet above the Thames frontage of the Lion Brewery beside the Hungerford Bridge.
 

The 13-tonne sculpture survived World War II; but it was taken down before the brewery was demolished, and "preserved in accordance with the wishes of His Majesty King George VI." It finally arrived at its present commanding site at the south end of Westminster Bridge in 1966.

And once again I have joined in Mono Monday as he looked more regal that way. Thank you to osuzanna and nickimags888

I hope everyone has seen the new Blip Central post earlier today. Good news I think.


I'm going away on business tomorrow for one night so I have spent this evening decanting things into small pots.  Will I tomorrow remember which one is the shampoo or will I wash my hair with my shower gel?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.