Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

Afternoon on a rooftop

Woo hoo! I have had a fantastic day all to myself with NO writing work and NO family (gone hiking).

Some of you may know of my love for Abingdon's magnificent County Hall (previous blips here) built in the 1670s. It has been our town museum since the 1930s but has been swathed in scaffolding for the past two years.

The building has been completely redeveloped and looks fabulous. As part of the redevelopment the rooftop has been made safe and I spent an hour up here in blip heaven (in between showers!).

I could have shown you the town crier announcing the grand opening, the historic abbey gateway taken from the air, the last MG roadster to roll of the assembly line in the Abingdon works in 1980 (now in the museum), or even the new "Buns in the basement" cafe in the cellar but opted for this shot that I took when I eventually came down to earth.

PS The weather vane dates from 1681! Can you believe that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.