Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Little House on the Prairie

It's been 'wet playtime'. Can't go anywhere, nothing much to do outside, might be more popular indoors if I did some housework but don't fancy that much. I've finished my BIG project and 'the devil makes work for idle hands' or some other nonsense.

Some while ago a friend showed me her lovely little 'Teach Yourself Embroidery' book – First printed 1938, New impression 1954, 'Love from Mum & Dad 1956' I asked to borrow it in the hope that one day I might actually get around to Teaching Myself Embroidery instead of simply faffing about designing cross-stitch patterns and then sewing them slowly for my own amusement.

A couple of days stuck indoors and I have begun working my way through the little book using spare mosquito netting (handwoven peasant linen costs rather more in this day and age than it must have in 1938) and some elderly embroidery threads given to me by a friend which are categorically not threads I would choose to use for anything I would care to gaze at for any particular length of time.

Meanwhile I hope that Laura Ingalls is busy milking the sheep ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.