Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Overwintering

The garden looks rather sad in general over winter, with the bare skeletons of trees and shrubs, and the brown and scruffy bits and pieces everywhere.  The hydrangeas look neglected, even though they are meant to be left with their flowerheads on over winter to protect the growth buds (the last gardening tip my Dad ever gave me).  But on closer inspection in the dying light today I could see that, even in their brown and papery state, they do have a kind of beauty.  I feel a bit papery myself in the dehydrating cold of winter.

My sister came over today, and we all went out for lunch and a mooch around Tiptree afterwards.  Back at Mum's we had tea and cake, and a discussion about all the spring jobs we'll need to do around the house and garden to keep things up to scratch.  Nearly time to brush up my painting skills... (see what I did there?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.