cjshields

By AroundHome

A Place to Park

On a trip to San Francisco my daughter bought a packet of sourdough starter for me.  I make a lot of regular bread, and thought this would be a treat.  A week ago I made the sourdough batter, and on Friday made sourdough bread using the starter batter.  Unexpectedly we had company for dinner, and I hoped this could be served.  It did not rise much, and after baking I did a taste test. Declared to those assembled that this was a failed experiment best served to the squirrels and birds, not to people. I promptly threw the bread outside on the deck.

It's now several days later, and the critters have not eaten much sourdough. A pack of hungry European Starlings came this morning. Starlings will eat almost anything, but they picked at the bread and decided they found a better use than eating it.  

I think I heard one of them say, "Hey guys, I found a use for this sourdough bread. It makes a great place to park your rear."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.