Celebrating

After delivering Bob safely to the airport I headed down to Kinsale to meet up with Rachel and her boyfriend. it's her twenty first birthday so we went to their favourite cafe for a hearty celebratory lunch. Unfortunately Rachel is unwell with a chesty cough but it was lovely to spend time with them both.
I couldn't help reflect on this date twenty one years ago. The weather was wild, snow on the mountains and both the telephone and electricity in the townland were down. My midwife was coming from Killarney and which ever route she took to get to our cottage involved a mountain pass, fair play to her though she made it just as Rachel was being born. I remember well enjoying freshly baked bread and a mug of steaming hot tea all snuggled around the open fire, the elements raging outside and marveling at my new daughter, Rosie was pretty impressed with her new sister too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.