Through the manuka

An early morning run today. Out along the ridge top road towards Martins Bay. The predawn sky was appealing and changing on the way out, and more so as sunrise neared on the way back. Just after I started down the hill from the highest point, I took this picture across the field where the steers are.

Here the sun is fully risen and very bright. So I positioned myself to ensure that the manuka (also known as tea tree) leaves dimmed the brightness of the sun enough to enable a photograph. I did consider decreasing the shadow of the foreground, and decided against that, as I like the effect of all that darkness. I was pleased that Little Barrier retains some of the purple it has at sunrise and sunset.

Posting this now, before daughter C and the Auckland grandsons arrive to stay overnight. Tomorrow being the day when Grandpa gets to put a new number in the age box of any forms that require it.

ADDITIONAL: On realising that this week's challenge word is bright, I think this is apposite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.