Ginger

Someone kept nudging me this morning to take my big camera out.  I resisted for a while but the voice was persistent and in the end, I concluded that I’d be gutted now if I saw something of interest. So, I tucked it under my arm and off we went.

I had been expecting to wake up to fog and hopefully a cloud inversion but was a little disappointed when it seemed clear out of the window.  Before we’d even reached the moors though, a little fog had crept in from Guiseley and I started hunting for a brocken spectre (see the in luck extra) (more lucky days).

I came across an old friend from dog training  on her way down from the moors.  It took a short while for Little Dog to remember her doggy pal but she stopped barking eventually!  We chatted for quite a while in the warmth of the sunshine before heading our separate ways.  

Not long afterwards, I met a chap and his two dogs that I’ve chatted to before and stopped for another natter - it was one of those days just to slow down. 

The world looked extraordinarily beautiful - breathtakingly so. In fact overwhelmingly so, really.  

We pottered on and were shortly overtaken overhead by a bird of prey that seemed to spot something and dive down into the bracken.  It tousled around for a while, disappearing right in and leaping around before settling for this photo.  I think it’s perhaps a first year sparrowhawk as I have another photo of it showing a ginger trim to its feathers. But I’ve only just investigated that so I’m not entirely sure.  

As we walked on up the moors towards the top reservoir four greylag geese circled before heading off, at a guess, to find unfrozen water.  They were certainly out of luck here.


I’ve then had another life sort with a few appointments booked or under way and generally ticking through the to-do list before tutoring tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.