Peter Bourne

By notowennewitt

homeward#642

"... I'm sitting in the railway station.
Got a ticket to my destination.
On a tour of one-night stands my suitcase and guitar in hand.
And ev'ry stop is neatly planned for a poet and a one-man band.
Homeward bound,
I wish I was,
Homeward bound,
Home where my thought's escaping,
Home where my music's playing,
Home where my love lies waiting
Silently for me ..."


'Homeward Bound'   : :   Paul Simon (& Art Garfunkel) 1966

... Simon alludes to a railway station, a possible reference to "Homeward Bound".  A plaque commemorating this claim to fame is displayed on the Liverpool-bound platform of Widnes railway station.  Simon is quoted as saying "if you'd ever seen Widnes, then you'd know why I was keen to get back to London as quickly as possible."

... girl with guitar, possibly 'homeward bound', on Platform 4 of Newport Station ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.