Memento

Over the past year my sisters and brother and I have worked to clean out my parents' home to get it ready for sale. I'm happy to say it has sold and everything has been settled, they are comfortably ensconced in an independent living center. One of the items in the house was an old upright piano that my sisters and I used for lessons while we were in school. There were a lot of holiday sing-a-longs held around that piano also. At one point my sister-in-law thought she had found someone that would take the piano, but that fell through. So when it got down to the wire, we had rented two large dumpsters for all the things we couldn't give away. My brother ended up smashing up the piano into pieces and loading it into the dumpster. As a gift to me and my sisters, he saved the three foot pedals, polished them up, and gave one to each of us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.