Wood Stork

I have never seen one of these before. There is a dirt road behind our motel and so I told my husband that I wanted to go for a short walk while our room was being cleaned. I loved the walk beside a slow moving creek. First we saw about 20 Turkey Vultures hanging out in a dead tree, then then was a flock of robins and a couple magpies, wildflowers and banana trees, butterflies.......and then this wonderful Wood Stork appeared in the water. Since I had never seen one before, I was hoping this shot would turn out okay so I could look him up on line; I was surprised to find out that my guess had turned out to be correct. I don't think he is the most attractive bird, but very interesting. They were on the endangered species list until about 1 1/2 years ago when their population had dramatically increased.  ( extra is the stork by the stream)

Brother-in-law is improving and options have been discussed; it won't be up to us to make any decisions, but I think the kids are definitely going to be supportive and help him make good decisions in the near future. We will only be a phone call away when we leave tomorrow. I hope his dialysis treatment isn't done in the morning so we can see him before we leave to drive up north. We will probably drive back here the day we drive back to the airport. Don't know when I will be leaving.

Thanks for visiting and for your kind comments, stars and hearts for the Willet yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.