A Winter Sunrise

"If you will take my hand
We can cross this desert made of sand
We can break in through the ice
And feel the wind of paradise
We'll feel it blow our footprints in the snow."
Emerson, Lake, and Palmer, Footprints in the Snow

One of the cool things about riding the bus these past two weeks has been that I've gotten to spend more time than usual on campus. On this morning, it was flurrying very gently when I got off the bus, and I was watching the clouds and light come together to make a beautiful sunrise. The greatest show on Earth, as I like to say! And it's free, every morning!

The Arboretum is one of my favorite places to watch the morning sky show; so that's where I went first. This is the northeast end of campus, as viewed from the Arboretum walkway. You've seen this walkway several times before, but usually from the other direction, looking toward the Arboretum rather than toward campus.

The building on the right is the new Business building, whose reflections I enjoy photographing. It replaced Mitchell Building, where I worked for quite a few of my years at Penn State. To the left is the Forest Resources Building. If you cross the street from here and walk between the two buildings, you'll end up at the Creamery for some lovely snacks, including some of the best ice cream in the country! (But don't bother right now because the Creamery is closed for renovations until sometime in early February. I know. It's very sad.)

I was the only person at the Arboretum at the time that I was there for pictures. That's how it is when you're an early-morning person: sometimes you get the rare gift of having a place all to yourself. You can see tracks right down the middle of the walkway, and I'll admit that they are mine and mine alone! I was making tracks and there's the evidence: those are my footprints in the snow.

The soundtrack: Emerson, Lake, and Palmer, with Footprints in the Snow.

P.S. A hearty THANKS to everyone who popped by yesterday to help celebrate my 1500th Blip! It was a fun party; thanks to everyone who came by. You are very kind. Best of all, it sounds like we might get to keep Blipfoto, after all; now THERE is some news worth celebrating! Hooray! And now, let's keep on Blipping, shall we?  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.