Constellation

I knew what I wanted to be when I saw Larry at my first Rodeo. It was more than halfway to dark and before he came out, they turned the lights off. At first, you couldn't see nothing because it was all dark but, after a bit, your eyes got used to it and you could see the stars and the glows where folks in the crowd were smoking. My dad pointed out the shape of Orion in the sky but he didn't look too much like a hunter to me.

And then they put this music on and the crowd went apeshit. I've worked with Larry hundreds of times over the years and he always uses the same piece of music and the crowd always goes apeshit. Anyway, the music was going and the crowd was going apeshit and then Larry burst out of the cage on the back of the biggest, blackest bull I'd ever seen and he was wearing this suit of lights and it was all lit up like a constellation but, unlike old Orion, Larry looked like what he was and what I wanted to be and what I am now - a Rodeo Rider.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.