TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Pappy's Barn

I originally posted this photo of an old crumbling barn on Facebook ... Jan. 20, 2012. I find old barns to be very interesting subjects and, of course, abandoned buildings/places are also right up there at the top of my favorite things to photograph. 
This particular structure, however, is one that is very near and dear to my heart for it is all that remained of my grandfather's workshop which stood at one end of the homestead's barn.
The property was sold quite some time ago and the day I took this photo I knew that the barn would certainly not survive much longer. Indeed, it is now gone, all traces of it swept away...except in the memory of the little girl who spent many a carefree and happy day there playing in the yard with her cousins while Nanny and Pappy watched on.

I love my old barn because it brings back memories galore...
I started playing there before I knew what memories were for.

The barn was there before I came to be...
And great grandparents preserved it so their descendants could see.

Good times, bad times, it's seen them all...
Winter and summer and the harvest in the fall.

Each nail, each board and the bird nests too...
There is a time honored tradition in an old barn like you.

I love my old barn because it keeps my feet on the ground...
I even get excited when it creeks and moans and makes it's mournful sound.

There is a spiritual connection one finds there...
And a heart full of prayer fills the air.


~ TK
, My Old Barn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.