Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Saturday Splash

I'd been looking forward to a bracing winter walk by the water all week to liven me up, so was pleased to see the sun trying to push its way through the clouds this morning when I woke up and peeked through the curtains.  I really needed a trip to the coast, as I hadn't had a wild, woolly, salty, sea-air stroll for quite a few weeks!

No bargain fares to Brighton today, due to engineering works, so decided to go to Leigh-on-Sea instead, despite there being engineering works on the line there too and it involved getting a train and bus, which was fine.

I loved my walk from Old Leigh to Southend, then back again.   I even had a cheeky ice cream and saw a smiley man wandering along proudly in his trunks, before he headed off for a freezing swim in the estuary! It was high tide in Leigh when I arrived, as you can see from this paddle boarder photo (how do they balance and how did he keep his hat on?!) and the tide was out on my walk back a few hours later, so I enjoyed watching the birds searching for food in the mud. 

Enjoy the rest of your weekends!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.