SimonC

By SimonC

Moving on..maybe...maybe not..

Three pictures reside in our bedroom, (no other space) they were the framed works that I did for my degree show. This was the culmination of several years study and research and formed the backbone of my early art work.

That in itself is by the by, the trouble is because of the size they were printed (60x48 inches) as well as being Lambda prints I never had enough money to get them framed.

So my dad stepped in, he paid for the wood, made the frames and helped me construct them. Now my Dad and I had a bit of an up and down relationship over the years and had really only got in contact part way through me doing the degree. He was an absolute star and when I got my qualification was really proud, we don't have a long line of people going to University in my Family.

Sadly he died of Cancer about two years later and within six weeks of being diagnosed. The problem I have is what to do with these? Do I store them in perpetuity, release them into the wild? I don't know, they are more than the sum of their parts but I am going to have to tackle this at some point as the room is quite limited and they'll deteriorate if I remove them from the house in to the garage.

We have been pondering this for some time now but still haven't really formed any conclusion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.