Hunter

When faced with bad news, get the camera out and take pictures of the cat.

I woke up this morning in agony.  Not a great start.

Compounded a thousand times over by opening a letter from the hospital advising me that my surgery has been postponed.  No reason (unforseen circumstances) and no suggestion of a rescheduled date.

Then went to the pharmacy to see if my prescription for the new medication regime had been received from my GP surgery, as I am running out of the tablets (double dose soon bites into them) and haven't got the very new ones.

Guess what?  Yeah, that's right.  They weren't there.  What was there was a packet of Beta-Blockers.  I am not going to take those, on the basis that as yet, I have not had my 24 hour ECG nor have I had the echo-cardiogram that was mentioned in December at that all too disappointing (frustrating) appointment with the heart consultant.  I am not sure why I would be taking beta blockers until someone has actually identified a medical issue that definitely requires them to be taken.

I have gone past being upset about it.  Instead, I am really bloody angry.

So I have channelled that energy into writing a frankly pointless document that is one of the very many pointless things that teachers, including senior leaders like me, have to do.  At this point, I have spent 9 hours pretty much sat on my arse, typing, cross referencing data and drawing conclusions about the data so that it can be printed in the secure knowledge that there are probably only 3 other people who will ever read it, all of whom are on the same SLT and know it all already, just like me.

9 hours.  What could I have done with that time?  Maybe speak to my husband and child?  Relax a bit?

No, screw that.  What I needed in my life was an extra few hours of work.

If I sound pissed off, I really, really am.  Some poor soul is going to find my hand coming out of the receiver and gripping them on Monday if I don't get answers and dates pretty damn quickly.

On that note, I haven't taken my existing meds (so thats 4 hours late) so my sleep is going to be messed up now as well.

Someone please just shoot me now.

(The cat clearly thought that Corin was oblivious to him trying to 'sneak' down his torso!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.