Cairo Bananas

It's been a busy workday. I went out just after Dd left to start the second week of her course and crossed to my relocated writing cafe trying to establish myself in a comfortable corner. The new place is cold, though, and I sat with one of my layers wrapped over my knees like a granny.

I'm posting from another cafe now at the end of the day testing its wifi connection and noise levels in case I need to use it as a base for sessions this coming week. Our wifi in the flat is still based on 3G reception, the main phone line still being out of order.

Strictly speaking, that means the flat does not pass the security requirements as a place for Dd to stay. She is meant to be contactable by land line at all times in case the government cuts the mobile networks due to crisis or protest. Given that tomorrow is the fifth anniversary of the revolution and we have been advised to stock up on candles and food in case the atmosphere deterioates and we can't leave the apartment, that is not very reassuring. But we are stoic types and have procured a bottle or two of rosé wine to keep us going if things get really bad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.