Day 024/16. And the wall came tumbling down....

Due to a very nice family day today, a bit limited for photo ideas. And my wife is very used to me saying obtuse things like 'I am going to do the Berlin Wall for my photo of the day today'.
I was lucky enough to visit Berlin several times, both before and after the wall came down. I remember that to fly into Western Berlin before the wall came down I had to fly to Frankfurt and then onwards in a BA 737 limited to 10,000 feet in the small allowed corridor to West Berlin with a tight blanket on photography out of the window. Once there I remember seeing the wall, seeing Checkpoint Charlie and experiencing the tension across the city.
Soon after the wall was dramatically torn down in 1989 I visited Berlin again and found this piece on sale for a few pfennigs close to the Brandenburg Gate. I guess its pretty rare now, but all you need is a bit of graffitied concrete and a hammer and who would be any the wiser? But I know my bit is genuine......I can still remember the huge pile of bits of rubble, some bagged for sale to visitors like me. Some the size of footballs had price tags.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.