Day off, and hooray for not having to get up at 5am... although we did get up at 7am, watched the news and then an hour of football :-( during which I displayed my more or less complete ignorance of the game.  Then I set off for Winster in the Peak District to join the Derbyshire Dales group yet again (for the third time in a month) on a very enjoyable walk.  Yes, there was a fair bit of mud (but as I've given up cleaning my boots I don't care) but the scenery and views were lovely.  We walked past Nine Ladies stone circle, and some of us walked up Robin Hood's Stride, a gritstone outcrop near Elton, and I would have climbed one of the pinnacles if I hadn't been wearing very muddy walking boots... but then I would say that wouldn't I!

The extras are of a very early Celandine, and an old millstone quarry festooned with ferns where we ate our lunch. 

11.2 miles
4hrs 27mins
1198 feet ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.