Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Simon

I dined with Lorenzo this evening, an Italian colleague of mine who I have a lot of respect for. Since the rain poured and he was without an umbrella I made the walk from mine to his hotel. In the lobby, Lazio played Juventas on the TV with a dedicated following of just two. I'm no football officiando, far from it. I once enjoyed a game at St James Park in Newcastle years ago, but largely avoid the game otherwise. Motorsport is much more my thing, although infrequently watched and it's been ages since being trackside. Maybe the girls or Master H will show an interest one day?

Anyhow, back at the Hotel, bizarrely called Simon (there's a reason I'm sure) Lorenzo joined me in the dining room where I told him a tale of two Carlos. The one Carlo Guglielmi is a chief technology officer (well known to Lorenzo) in the Genoa office. I've only bumped into him once at the coffee machine (how Italian of me). The other, amongst other things, owns and runs a small shop, only a short walk from my front door. The news met Lorenzo's ears with the incredulity I thought it deserved after which followed a hearty laugh. I had to say I'd not shared the news with Genoa Carlo personally - not something I'd be likely to launch into on unfamiliar ground but Lorenzo seemed eager to do so himself. 'Please do' I encouraged him.

Having settled the bill between us, I returned to my hotel but first assuring Lorenzo that in the morning, the skies would be blue and the sun shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.