weewilkie

By weewilkie

the wind, the rain and I

This is the wind shoogling some dry grass. The sky was so dreich that I just about managed to get a long exposure on it. I've mucked about with it a bit and really like the effect.
I had walked two hours to get to this point. It is on an old railway line converted into a cycle path that was taking me into Port Glasgow.
To my left in the sodden fields were crows and jackdaws and greylag geese. To my right I could hear oystercatchers and when I looked through my binoculars at a huge puddle in a distant field there they were huddled with about thirty lapwings and some mallards.
I was limping a bit by this point, but so grateful that I could be out here to feel the air precipitating to rain. The wind moving in my hair. In this landscape where I grew up.
Earlier, I had passed a beautiful big Clydesdale horse and trap that I heard a full five minutes before it appeared at the brow of a hill. There seemed to be just them and myself out in the wet and dour sky. Just us and the horse's hooves and the wide open Clyde beneath us (see Extras).

And I am thankful. I am now off for a good hot soak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.