stujphoto

By stujphoto

Runners

When I went out with the dogs today. I stopped short at the bridge over Bielwater as there was a continuous stream of runners crossing the bridge. This was one of a series of runs organised by Foxlike Adventures who own a wake boarding centre just a mile up the road from our house. 

Wake boarding is like surfing only your method of propulsion is not the wave behind you (or hopefully so) but a toe rope in front of you which pulls you steadily across the lake with various jumps to traverse which allow you to do acrobatic manoeuvres. The toe rope is attached to a winch rather than to a boat and the winch of course can be set to different speeds for the more advanced wake boarders. It is supposed to be one of the fastest growing sports in the UK. The company who run this facility also organise tree walking and segway adventures. 

These runs happens two or three times a year and are open to all-comers and part of the course runs through John Muir Country Park where I walk the dogs. After getting over the bridge myself during a lull in the runners I thought I may as well take a few shots of the runners. Unfortunately I had a telephoto lens on so the depth of field was limited and I was hand holding the camera so the images are not as sharp as I would have liked but catching people as they came off the bridge was easier as they had to slow down a bit.

A few of the runners had dogs with them and , of course, Baxter had to bark vociferously at them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.