Special Places

When I'm giving talks about some of the spectacular and remote places I've been to, one of the regular questions is a variation on '"What's your favourite place?".  And I've regularly taken this as an excuse to talk a bit more about the wildlife on the beaches of South Georgia or the icescapes and polar bears around Svalbard.  

The real truth is a bit closer to home.  

Given the choice, there isn't anything I'd trade for a walk around Scat Ness at the south end of Shetland.

And having made that clear - it's probably time to find out if my flight south is going to happen today.  If it gets cancelled I'll just take it as confirmation that I really need another wander on Scat Ness. :-)

UPDATE: I didn't realise at the time, but this is my 365th picture of the day from Shetland - most but not quite all on blipfoto.  I'm awarding myself a red Shetland-shaped balloon.

4050

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.