monochrome

By monochrome

No squirrels were harmed...

... in the making of this blip!

Having previously caught the mother and two kids, this was the only furry critter still wrecking havoc in the attic (I had thought there was only three, as reported in this blip, however a few days after catching the third one, I noticed another scaling the outside wall and disappearing into the loft). He had been keeping a low profile and we hadn't really heard much of him until about 9pm last night, when we heard him scurrying around and gnawing on things.

I went up, turning the lights on and making a bit of noise (in the hope of scaring him away for the night), however it must have been too cold for him outside (can't really blame him) and instead he hid in a dark corner until I got too close for comfort, wherein he made a bolt for the hole (where he comes in and out), almost giving me a heart attack in the process.
Half an hour after coming back downstairs, he was back in - scurrying and gnawing and generally being a antisocial. So, rather than wait til morning, I dug out the trap, went back up the loft, rigged the trap and set it, hoping that I'd catch him before going to bed.

Well, despite keeping an ear out for any loft-type activity, he kept a low profile for the rest of the night. Cue lying in bed this morning at around 8.30am, half asleep (and hoping for a bit of a lie-in), when a sudden THUD came from the loft, followed by some frantic cage shaking. He had taken the bait and I had him. Rather than leave him to do himself an injury, I got up & dressed and took him to my super-secret no-red-squirrel-within-a-20-mile-radius releasing place wherein he was hopefully reunited with the others who had been released there previously.

Hopefully the attic should now be squirrel free - I should really phone a roofer to come and repair the hole before another family take an interest and decide to move in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.