The view from here

By cathintheattic

Doing Our Work

When our niece Thea comes to visit she likes to come to the attic with me to do some work (she is amazed that I don't go OUT to work, that I come UP to work in the attic in my house). Last time they came we spent our Sunday morning being grumpy photo printers, who had to open on a Sunday morning to print a special order. We managed to have fun though as we sang along very, very loudly to the Muppet Movie soundtrack.

This weekend we worked twice - once on Saturday when we made 4m of bunting for the secret party and then this morning when we opened 'Thea and Cath's Picture Shop'. We created collages of photos from Saturday and invited customers to view contact sheets and order photos in different sizes (6x4 10p and A4 collages 50p). We made £1.80. and true to my usual style I ended up paying the whole amount in wages to Thea. We may not be in business much longer.

I love the absolute determination and focus she has when we are working - it is work and it is serious. Now she can read and write there is a whole new level to the work and the roleplay and here she is cutting card to make price tags and notices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.