Blippin' heck!

By ClickingCurate

Flying the flag

Firstly a big thank you to everyone who commented on and liked yesterday's blip. And to osuzanna for hosting ((sorry I forgot to say that yesterday- bad etiquette).

Today is Australia Day, a day I approach with mixed feelings. This is a fantastic country to live in and I am blessed. But I am also aware that for many first Australians and those fleeing persecution - our rhetoric of a "fair go" doesn't extend to them. I don't want patriotic sentimentality to detract from the fact we have hard issues to face as a nation.

Still feel crook (as Australians say) and worried about what to blip as didn't want to venture far. Fortunately the neighbours obliged with a flag draped over their balcony. And as Australia's colours are green and gold, it all tied in quite nicely. Now back to the couch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.