Cooper's Hawk

Another dull and dreary day, with snow flurries headed our way later today, so Tom and I decided to go run some errands before the snow gets here. We pulled out of our driveway and Tom spotted the hawk up in the tree about half way down the street, but by the time I saw it we were past it already, so I had him go around the block while I changed lenses on the camera. As we came back toward the hawk Tom swung the car at an angle so all I had to do was roll the window down and start taking pictures. At first it totally ignored us, but when we kept creeping ever closer in the car it puffed it's chest up a bit, but then settled down & just watched us! This was my favorite, as it's looking right at me! It's a young one, as the juveniles have the heavy streaking of brown on the upper breast, & it's head is still heavily brown.  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.