The original social media

Last week I got old-school snail mail from a friend in Hong Kong. It has been a long time since I got mail from overseas and I am quite sure I have never received anything but bulk mail from Hong Kong or anywhere in Asia. Anyway, my friend Daniel sent a couple of photos in the mail with a short note and they arrived two Fridays ago. He found them when a roll of film he had misplaced for six years was finally developed. The photos were of two plastic figures I had loaned him to take with him on a trip to China. I send a figure or two with people going away on trips and ask them to photograph them somewhere that is conspicuous and readily-identifiable or famous (Big Ben, Guggenheim, a statue, etc.). One of my figures has been around the world at least six times. I'll have to set up an album on facebook for them.

I thought the stamp was pretty. It features a red-whiskered bulbul (which I never heard of before) that was pretty and would make an interesting blip. Daniel has nice handwriting as well - something that has eluded me my whole life. It is a good thing I learned to type in high school.

My posting has been in bunches this week. Do have a look back at the past week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.