Half Dome in Winter

We were first in line for the free shuttle bus that runs from Yosemite Valley up the mountain to Badger Pass ski area. It's about an hour's ride, and a blessing not to have to drive one's own car on the narrow curvy roads. Chains are required at one point, which is the real deal breaker. Couldnt ask for a better day--blue skies, great snow, and hardly anyone on the slopes. I'd hoped to use my own trusty boots, but apparently my comfortable gear is obsolete, like older computers and last year's phones, so i had to get used to unfamiliar rental equipment. Skis these days are wide and they measure them to the bottom of your chin. I noticed that skis similar to my long narrow pair were hanging on the walls as historical decoration. But oh it was fine to be out on the snow! Once you've learned, it's in your body, and I grew up on skis. It was a milestone for me to quit early, however. I always hung on til the last ride in the past, but today everything was atremble by lunch time. I'm trying to drop the negative feelings about that and reframe it as taking care of myself. Being mature and all.

We took a good stroll in the Valley, enjoying the rare chance to see snow in the meadows. I've posted this shot in the spring and fall, and I've drawn at this bend in the river many times, but here is Half Dome in the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.