Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Fly Away

This morning constituted a mixture of chores and packing for the working week ahead, culminating in the cooking and eating of a hurried lunch for us all. 1:30 arrived in a flash and so it was time to depart for Stagnated Airport.

Thanks to the automated barriers, my first encounter with staff was at security control. Signs posted in the area clearly indicate that no verbal or physical abuse will be tolerated towards staff. In return, I can only think that instructions to be as rude as possible to travellers must be a condition of passing training for the job. I often despair of the impression this gives of our country to foreign visitors. It is completely unnecessary. Shouting at a traveller in a language foreign to them because they don't instantly comply with your complicated request is not the way.

Bear with me, I need a rest... I'll be back in later...







... I've managed to calm down somewhat from rant mode, in part thanks to a smooth transition through the rest of the airport, onto the plane and maybe a little thanks to a glass of red wine. On the plane, a young Italian boy of about the same age as Miss C is sitting a few rows in front of me. His fine, straight blonde hair appears to be having a disagreement with his head and is trying to escape in all directions. I'm sure he's going to grow into a superb mad scientist one day. I shouldn't stare, but the sources of amusement on a plane are very limited.

We're now descending towards Rome. On a bright day, the Vatican and Colosseum amongst other sights can be clearly seen (London Stansted to Rome Ciampino view from the right hand side of the aircraft if you have the chance). This evening though, the darkness is punctuated only by twinkling bright lights (I should be a philosopher)...

I wish you all a great week and hope your weekend whether working, resting, at home, or far far away was a happy one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.