One Click!

It has been raining non-stop all day, so after work, I took the boys for a walk and then we moved our training session indoors.

I had the most amazing training experience with Biscuit. He was touching a target on the ground with his paw, I clicked and released him by throwing a treat away from the target.

We repeated this behaviour quickly after each other about 5 - 7 times. By accident, Biscuit missed the target and placed his paw next to it. I was not quick enough to stop my finger from clicking, so I clicked for the wrong behaviour (placing his paw next to the target instead of on the target).

Since I had clicked, I also rewarded - the click is always followed by a reward - that's the rules! It is not Biscuit's fault that I am clumsy and click at the wrong time.

The next time Biscuit returned to the target, he was very careful NOT to put his paw on the target. I was amazed! I clicked for NOT touching the target once and the next time that was what Biscuit offered even though I had clicked for touching many time prior to this.

We continued the exercise, but the next few times I clicked and rewarded for NOT touching.

After a few repetitions, I once again waited for him to touch the target. For a short while, he tried to step everywhere around the target, but since I withheld the click, he tried to touch the target again. I clicked.

It took one attempt, then he had adjusted to this new criteria and returned to the target and touched it every time.

WOOOOOW I know that the clicker is a powerful tool to change behaviours in dog training, but it is still facinating to see how fast it happens. One (1!!!) click for a different behaviour and then that's what he offered. And again - one click and then the behaviour was back to what it was before... All it took was one click!

Biscuit is such a smart little dog.

Did you know that athlets use clicker training to improve their performance too? Check this link out.

And did you know that clicker training is used to help autistic children to get a more normal life? Learn more here!

I love that I can train my dogs just by using a clicker and rewards!

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.