Street Graffiti

We're still being told that we're in a drought. I understand that it will take a lot more rain than we have had to fill the reservoirs, but when it has rained almost every day in January, apartment buildings are teetering on the edge of an eroding cliff in Pacifica, and low lying areas like the laguna are flooding, could weather forecasters please stop saying that we are in ' a drought' in the same breath as they are talking about 'El Niño storms'? That is not a forecast…it would be more useful to look out the window.

Today was one of the beautiful days when it wasn't raining, the sun was out, the sky was blue and heavy clothing was not required. I took a picture of the vintage Morris Minor (extra) parked by the railroad tracks and noticed as I walked away that I was not the only one with my phone camera out. It was attracting the attention of several people, probably because its celadon color looks so nice with the blue sky.

I took a picture of the graffiti on the ground by the railroad station wondering what it all means….I assume it indicates the presence of underground wires and pipes, but sometimes it remains until the weather, the seasons and the footsteps of passersby erases it before anything discernible happens to indicate why it was put there in the first place. 

A man getting on his motorcycle commented on how nice it was to have a camera in one's possession all the time and pointed out the Morris to me. He probably wondered what I was doing with my camera pointed at my own shadow when there was a fine Morris Minor just steps away,  We talked about the new Mini Cooper, which is actually made by BMW, and he said he wouldn't feel safe in it. I refrained from commenting that I would feel safer in a Mini than I would on a motorcycle  because he was a nice man.

I spent too much time today reassembling my Blipfoto album and attempting to learn the Aperture Priority function on my camera. It is a case of understanding it in theory but being unable to see a consistently discernible difference in the photos. It may be a lifelong project, though I have promised myself a camera without a fixed lens as a reward if I ever do succeed in making my little Leica work on Manual….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.