Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The Pod

Preliminary line drawing for a new print design - "The Pod".

Earlier this year I decided that I would try to do a series of prints through 2016 based on items in the news (the "News Prints" series). Initially I was going to do a weekly print but I soon realised this wasn't practical so I've scaled it back to one news item per month - not the big stuff but smaller items that interest me. This month the "news print" is inspired by the stranding of five sperm whales on the east coast. This morning I made some preliminary whale sketches. This still needs some work and a lot of planning. I will add two more whales in the background. I've been reading about the slightly edgy process of chemical etching to create a textured printing surface and I think this might be an opportunity to give that a try.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.