Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Indifference

while feet walked away
the man seemed to have remained
glued to the pavement

My lunch break brought me in the same vicinity as on Tuesday, and the same view shocked my eyes. I had to photograph him again. I felt like I'd be intruding if I stopped; I suspect his sleep was a depression-induced one. Or rather, I'm telling myself it could well be. Once again, no alcohol in sight.

Where did he come from, what's his story, what led him to sleep on the streets, why does he do it in the middle of the pavement, where people are apt to actually bump into him? I admit his situation baffles me.

You really should look at this large, if I may.

Meanwhile, Iranian President Rohani turned down the lunch invitation of President Hollande, because there would be other food than halal at the table, and wine. I'm sorry, but if I invited a vegetarian friend at my table, I'd cook them a vegetarian meal (it's not my place to decide their eating habits nor their convictions) but if that friend said "I won't come if you don't eat a vegetarian meal too", I'd disinvite them, as it's not their place to decide my eating habits nor my convictions either. Rohani was not asked to "do as the French do", just not to force the French to do as he does.

How strange that a Frenchman should rant about food, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.