CrocusMan

By TonyG

Globetrotting

Something that us Blippers and this crocus have in common.

This is a form of Crocus biflorus subspecies alexandrii. I received the corms from a contact in New Zealand but her stock originated in Europe, the plant is native to Bulgaria and Serbia.  It's a sumptuous deep purple in bud but once open the much paler (commonly white in this taxa) inner petals are revealed.  A stunning combination to my eye.

I brought these indoors to photograph them, the extra shows the flowers as they began to open.

In other news, on a superb sunny winters day I spent a happy hour digging the allotment having first recovered my bike from the back of the garage.  It's almost a year since I rode it and I certainly noticed the lack of fitness as I set off!  A gear cable snapped when I went to change gear (who needs 21 gears ... don't answer that!) but otherwise it was a good workout - the first of many I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.