Cinema warning

I'd been to three of the four operas which make up Wagner's Ring cycle in the live screenings from the Metropolitan Opera in New York. We'd been told at the time that an 'encore' series was planned for around this time, and sure enough it was on this week.

It began last Sunday with a behind-the-scenes documentary about the hugely imaginative and innovative production by Robert Lepage (of Cirque de Soleil fame). That was so good that I serious toyed with the idea of going to all four operas during the course of this week rather than just the one I'd missed. As it happened, I wasn't able to go to Das Rheingold on Tuesday, so I stuck to just doing catch-up with Siegfried, the one I'd missed.

That was on tonight, and it was magnificently wonderful. We began at 6:00 pm and ended at 10:20. That's actually earlier than one would expect with this opera, but, since this was a recording of the original live screening, we weren't stuck to real-time timing. That meant, though, that there was only one intermission, of fifteen minutes between acts 2 and 3. Still, it was well worth it.

It was while treating myself to an ice cream during the intermission that I spotted this notice on the wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.