Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Tip top tables

Between 1985 and 2005 I bought four complete original octagonal folding Asian tables. I like them very much and have searched for them for over 20 years. They have been found across the north of England and Scotland. The block of four from the top left - clockwise - they are as follows...

Edinburgh, The Three Etaits 1997, £75 18"dia
Hexham, Antique Shop 1985, £85 24" dia
Darlington, Dealer 2005 £56 18" dia
Kirkby Stephen, Antique Shop 2001 £95 20" dia

The Odd One Out. I have a couple of broken ones stored in the garage, one of which came from Penrith and is beautiful, potentially the best but the shop had stored it in the damp on one edge and it was rotten. I got it for a fiver!!! It's the one on the right above standing on the broken edge (about 30" dia). I cleared all the crud off and for the last 20 years have planned to take a cast off a good edge and pin it on. Unfortunately the folding base was totally rotten and had to be scrapped.

The most popular story as to their origins is that they are card or prayer tables, hence their folding abilities. They came from the regions around India, Siam and Malaya. They could be found mainly in houses in ports as they were brought back home by merchant sailors. Backing up this story, I have a photo of one in a Victorian house in South Shields and an elegant lady sitting with her spotty dog and drinking tea by the fire. (If I could find it I'd post it!)

I don't see them at all these days in the UK. Last year in Dubai I found lots of them - all repro - and they ranged in price around £800-£1000 but that's probably the rich tourist price, which I am not!

I have several other carved tables of India origins and though they are round and oblong and intricately carved none have the beauty (to me) of the octagonal versions.

I still look out for them despite Mrs DB firmly banning me from buying any more so if you see any for sale contact me quietly please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.