The second half of life..

By twigs

Attic

Today is 'Yay Day' :)
I called the SHEDS (Supported Hospital Discharge Service) people this morning to find out if there was any progress on Mum's case.  The lady I needed to speak with was in a meeting........please call back.  
I waited an hour or so and called again.  Sorry - we still don't have the capacity to support her yet.  Call back again tomorrow.

My emotions - which have been very balanced and (relatively) accepting to this point - lost their balance as I explained how important it was for me to see Mum safely home before I left to return to NZ on Saturday, and time was running out. The woman at the other end of the line then surprised me by saying that she'd see what could be done and if possible she'd get an assessment done on Mum this afternoon with a view to getting her home tomorrow.

A breakthrough moment :)

When I arrived at the hospital later in the afternoon Mum was having her assessment and, after a little more discussion, we were informed that the ambulance would pick Mum up sometime during the morning tomorrow and she'd have her first care visit at midday.  

Such happiness :)  Mum was clearly relieved, as I was too.  Mum was in such (relatively) good spirits that I decided I would tell her about the wee issue at her house with a seriously leaky roof which just sprang into leak-mode as I sat and ate my breakfast this morning......

Drip, drip, drip, pour.....

I quickly arranged some pots and pans to catch the flow then headed to the attic.  I managed to trace the source of the water and there appeared to be a pretty serious problem.  Another container to capture the flow then, to cut a longer story short, F's neighbour turned out to be a roofer and was happy to come round and have a look a the problem.  Seems Mum's roof needs a bit of work, particulalry in this one valley where tiles are broken and crumbling.

Still, at the end of the day (which turned out to be a rather long one) the overwhelming feeling is of relief and happiness that Mum will be home tomorrow :)  It was odd leaving the ward tonight.  Mum's been there for about 2 weeks and 4 of the 6 women in there (including Mum) have been there throughout.  They, their visitors, Mum, F and I have shared plenty; we've helped and supported one another and listened and laughed together as we each walked a road that had no signposts and no end but was paved with an enormous amount of love, empathy and compassion.  I sincerely hope that Pauline, Joyce and Loretta (and Shirley and Susan who left earlier) find improved health in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.