St Paul's Jewellery Quarter

I haven't done a "Proud to be a Brummie" shot for some time, but as I was showing my Devonian cousin around the city this morning, the feeling to tell you all what a great city Birmingham is welled up in me again!

This is a shot from Snow Hill Station, looking across to the Jewellery Quarter, specifically St Paul's Square and the church.  I am ashamed to admit that I've never been inside the church, but it is on my list!

I'm sure I could get it to fit in somewhere with the February Dickens Challenge which starts on Monday!

Here is some information about the church and square:

ST PAUL’S SQUARE AND CHURCH
St Paul’s Square
The elegant tree lined area of St. Paul’s is Birmingham’s last remaining Georgian Square, of which the Grade I listed ‘Jewellers’ Church’ of St. Paul’s, built in 1779, is the centrepiece.
St. Paul’s Square was developed in the 1770’s and by the 19th Century was one of the most gracious and desirable districts in the Midlands. The Square was recently voted in the top 20 urban picnic areas by The Independent newspaper.
St Paul’s Church
St. Paul’s was the church of the famous industrialists Matthew Boulton (whose pew was number 23) and James Watt, inventor of the steam engine.
The main feature of the church is Francis Eginton’s painted window showing the conversion of St. Paul, copied from an original by Benjamin West, a past American President of the Royal Academy. Another talking point is the Millennium Window – designed by Rachael Thomas and sponsored by the Assay Office – which includes a map of the Jewellery Quarter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.