SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Humphrey Head holy well

(Main pic and extra switched ... by order of freespiral  ;- ) to feature the holy well as the main blip for Holywell Month)

It was tricky staying upright today (see extra).
I have wanted to come back to Humphrey Head for ages.
It is one of those places that is easy to bypass and the first time I came this way was nearly 30 years ago.
On my last visit, around 2001 or thereabouts, I made my approach across the sands that you can see in the extra, and Humphrey Head was the first landfall when we crossed the bay on a guided walk for Cancer Care. It is one of the most memorable days I can remember ... a biblical scene of more than 100 walkers stretched out across the bay.
Today I also went to find the holy well prompted by freespiral's quest.
It apparently 'cures all poisons for the body' so I was hopeful!
There is more information about it here.
Today it is sadly neglected and easily missed, there is no sign of the building in the early photograph.
I thought I saw the Lancastrian White Beam too and resolved to try and not leave it so long before coming back to check it out in spring if I can.
Afterwards I went for a quick jaunt up Gummer's How where it was still very difficult staying upright (another extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.