Northern Shoveler(Anas clypeata)

Took my friend to Al Ansab lagoons to show her why it is one of my most favourite birding locations, not just because it's a beautiful place, but also it's relatively cool, weather wise here in Oman at the moment. Who should we meet but Dr. Jens Eriksen the author of the definitive guide 'Common Birds of Oman' He had a new book out 'Oman Bird List' (which he signed for me and wrote 'Good luck with the bird photography!) Anyway a great morning, although being perhaps a bit too windy not as many birds as I would have liked to show off. This Northern Shoveler is a male duck in plumage transition, he will eventually have a colourful green head, whereas the female is a rather plain-looking brown, still a lovely bird and another one for my personal list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.